elusive jump shot – i float into the night

Posted: September 30, 2010 in photos
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I have a nice camera. Compared to other system cameras it’s nothing fancy, it’s just a humble Nikon D60, but it’s perfect for me. I like to go out and take photos, and even though I’m not very good at it I occasionally manage to get some pretty pictures. I especially like learning how to take macro shots. A few days ago I didn’t have anything to do, so I got the idea to take a few funny self-portraits. I posed the camera on a tripod and took a few shots of me jumping through the air in the other side of the room, but it was very difficult to jump in the exact right moment. When you jump you automatically use your muscles and hunch back a bit, and every soft part of your body will flap. This looks even worse when you use a flash, but it’s impossible to get a good shot without the flash when you move quickly and use the self-timer. When you’re doing this by your self and somewhat spontaneously, not in a studio with good lights but in your untidy little bedroom, it takes some time to even time the jump right. I have sore muscles in my thighs today because of it. I guess my point is that you shouldn’t try to do this if you have a fragile self-image, because you will look flabbier, 20 years older, and also stupider than a 4 year old child with a pen up it’s nose.

On the upside, it’s a great work-out. I hate working out and I didn’t even notice I was tired until I was covered in sweat (the sweat really adds glamour to the photos later. Perfect in combination to all that flab).

But you can view this as a treat from me. To be honest, these are way more accurate photos of me than the ones where I try to look like a responsible girl with normal hobbies and a regular hygiene routine.

Eery floating Joos bids you a good night.


Leave a Reply

