woo apartment

Posted: August 1, 2010 in Personal Life
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Getting settled in my new apartment. It’s so nice. I love it. Been busy getting essential things though so here’s a tiny-winy update.

I usually refer to people by the first letter in the name here in this blogthing. This is a bit difficult with my new roommates because they all have names starting on the letter E. I don’t think they really care about being anonymous on a blog that hardly anyone reads, but for simplicities sake, I’m going to refer to them here as E1, E2 and E3.

All my previous roommates have been irreplaceable in their own way, but these one are definitely getting off with a good start. E1’s sister in Spain is a doctor, and before E1 left for Sweden, the sister thought it would be a good idea to give her a lot of medicine that she might need if she got sick, because she didn’t really trust that the Swedish doctors would give her the right ones. Most of them were the ordinary over the counter type drugs, but there was also diazepan which is definately something you have to have a prescription for here.  E1 told me to take one if I felt “nervous about a test”. So basically the whole bathroom cabinet is filled with boxes upon boxes of free medicine. I don’t usually take pills when I’m sick (except for the occasional headache pill) because it’s so expensive, so “yay!”? 🙂

Speaking of free stuff, I picked up two free kettles today. I’ve been scourging the university’s billboard for ads of things people want to give away. I’ve gotten a lot of stuff for free and so far I haven’t picked up anything from the dumpster.

Leave a Reply

