THE PAIN!

The little ball that makes sure that the jewellery in one off my piercings stay in place fell off a few days ago. Since this was during Easter, every body art studio that I knew of was closed and I had to wear the jewellery without the seal for a few days. I’ve done this in the past, and the rod has stayed in place until I found a  new seal. Unfortunately, this time, the rod fell out sometime yesterday morning and I couldn’t find it anywhere. I think I spent an hour looking for it. You’d think that it wouldn’t be that hard to find a silver piercing in a small and relatively clean apartment, but nada. This particular piercing was a few months old (4 months I think) and I was afraid that it might heal unless I did something, so during the evening I removed a jewellery from another piercing and switched. It hurt a bit, but the pain was tolerable. Come the next day, and I go in to town to buy a new rod. It’s been ~20 hours since I removed the rod from the other piercing. I knew it would have healed up a bit, and I can’t afford the price to re-pierce it, especially not when it healed up because I was clumsy. Some hours later, I was home and prepared for horrible, awful pain. The last piercing hurt, and that one had healed partially during ~10 hours, and now it was almost 24 hours for this one.

Re-piercing it with a non-pointy rod by myself wasn’t a very quick process. I think it took roughly 15 minutes. I’m a quick healer, so this. was. not. funny. I pushed in the jewellery millimetre by millimetre, and since it was difficult to tell which parts of my flesh were pierced and which was not, it hit surrounding tissue which caused me quite a discomfort. It hurt WAY more than getting it pierced in the studio the first time around. One of the worst parts was when it almost popped at the other side, but not really. It was stuck right beneath the skin. I had to use force to pop it out. This process could be described as “AAARGGGHHH WHYYYYY??!?!?!??!?!”.

But now, I have all my piercings back.

If you’re wondering where on my body this particular piercing was located, just pick whatever part that you think would hurt the most. D’;

Leave a Reply

