A day in my life, February the 25th

Posted: March 21, 2010 in Personal Life, photos
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
(I’m trying to see if I can copy the html from my LJ-entries here)
February the 25th, 2010
A Day In My Life
Linköping, Sweden

Johanna, 20 y.o medical speech-language pathologist student (that’s a mouthful! Imagine how difficult it must be to say it if you have a speaking disorder) at Linköping University. This is my 3rd ADIML.

1. The alarm goes off around 6:30. I don’t have a night table so I have to fumble on my glasses and find the alarm on the floor to press snooze. Might as well take a photo.
ADIML3

2. I put on some pants and coffee. My morning routine usually starts with me imitating a sloth for 30 minutes.
Don’t let the photo fool you: I’m not really awake.
ADIML3

3. My breakfast: One glass of orange juice, one cup of coffee (with milk, cinnamon and cardamom) and a banana.
ADIML3

4. My 30 minutes of sloth-ing is done. I make a mental note to try and nap in the afternoon, because I haven’t slept well, but I suck at remembering to do those things.
ADIML3

5. Vanity. I use a lot of make-up. Amazingly it only takes me 10 minutes. Finding clothes and getting dressed and then finding my school books take considerably longer.
ADIML3

6. Everyone in this town owns a bike. I own two because my last roomie left hers and I’m keeping it for her.
ADIML3

7. Time check! After 15-20 minutes of biking I hit the grounds of the campus.
ADIML3

8. When we got the first snowfall a several months ago, I complained. Guess how sick I am of the snow right now?
ADIML3

9. Time check! One minute left until we get to work. Sweden is playing Slovakia in hockey and some of the girls are listening to the game in their headphones. I’m completely uninterested in sports and the Olympics. Boooring.
ADIML3

10. Oh, and a good morning to Emma too who wasn’t to excited to be caught on film.
ADIML3

11. Break. I buy a sandwich at this place. See the knot on the lamp post? I’m kind of fascinated how they did that.
ADIML3

12. Sweden. Our students live in igloos.
ADIML3

13. I don’t have any more lessons until 4 pm, so I head home. I’m once again cursing the bloody snow. I’ve been told that the Eskimos have 127841234 words for snow, but I’m working my way up to beat that number. During this winter I’ve expanded my own words for snow with names as “white shit”, “cold, heartless bastard of nature” and other lovely things that I should probably keep to myself.
ADIML3

14. Time check!
ADIML3

15. I eat my sandwich as I go over my schedule for the day and the upcoming weeks.
ADIML3

16. Then I doodle a bit on a old steampunk sketch before I head out downtown.
ADIML3

17. I walk around town to run some errands and took a photo of the ice hanging from the roof. They’re probably around 2 meters. It’s insane, you know there’s going to be a bloody earthquake when they fall off.
ADIML3

18. I bought 6 packages of concentrated orange juice… that’s ~6 liters when you mix it with water. It will probably be gone by the end of the week. It’s an addiction.
ADIML3

19. Check my email and some other mundane things.
ADIML3

20. Work a bit on my student party overall. I suck at sewing and I find it extremely boring, so I just put some chains on it and painted it. It’ll work as a distraction from the fact that everything else is hanging up by safety pins.
ADIML3

21. My next lesson is at the teaching hospital, which is very close to where I live.
I’m going to the pathologist! Gonna watch me some braaaains!
ADIML3

22. I was pretty sure they wouldn’t allow me to take any photos of the morgue so I left the camera in my bag.
ADIML3

23. The brain dissection-thing was kind of tedious but it was fascinating to think that those slimy, stinking balls of brain actually used to contain a personality and an identity, if you know what I mean. Some “crumbles” of brain fell off when I held it, and stuck on my gloves. I almost didn’t notice and was close to cover my mouth with the same hand when I yawned, hehe. But no cannibalism for me today!
ADIML3

24. Time check! Lesson ended later than scheduled. I was pretty stressed and exhausted, but I just had to have some coffee and food before getting ready to go out.
ADIML3

25. Potato pancakes… and orange juice of course.
ADIML3

26. Time goes by too quickly. After running around the apartment to get ready, I take a 5 minute break and listen to a Bon Iver song. Then I start running around again.
ADIML3

27. Pre-party with some classmates.
I don’t know who took this pic. I’m the blurry thing in the corner, it’s the best pic of me all night.
ADIML3

28. Notice the pretty fabrics on the letters on the overalls? See how everything is neatly sewn together? Yeah, my overall doesn’t look like those. 🙂
ADIML3

29. I didn’t drink much, but these hours are a bit blurry anyhow. Probably because I hadn’t slept much and because I don’t drink often. Anyhow, good times were had. Someone wrote a lot of cryptic messages on my overall. I made an abstract drawing of a vulva on a guy’s leg. They are too difficult to draw though so I’m not sure if he understood what it was supposed to be.
ADIML3

30. Queuing to get in. I’m back at the campus, where the real party is. Took a while to get in, but I met a fun guy in the que who I discussed Buffy with so I didn’t really mind.
ADIML3

31. And partying was had! This is just a small part of the house. There were two other dance floor, I think, and maybe 4 or 5 bars.
ADIML3

32. There’s a lot happening in this photo 😀 It’s kind of funny, some people mistook me for a hired crowd photographer, so I just kind of went with it and took some random photos of random people who posed.
ADIML3

33. If you’re wondering why everyone’s wearing overalls, it’s a Swedish thing. There’s even a wiki-entry about it here. 😀
ADIML3

34. I stopped drinking about 2-3 hours before I had to go home, but even though I was ok to bike home I walked for most of the way. I didn’t really mind, and I didn’t want to risk getting busted by the police in case they drove by. Otherwise I think the majority of the students bike home wasted, because we can’t afford a cab and there’s no busses after midnight. I wonder how high the accident rate is compared to other cities (sucky photo, but my hands were freezing).
ADIML3

35. When I got home I was bloody starving. Mmm, banana. I just put it on my bed to take a photo; don’t think dirty thoughts, ew.
ADIML3

36. Time check! Ugh. I have to get up at 8.
ADIML3

37. Make-up off, lenses off, goodnight. 🙂
ADIML3



Leave a Reply

